The BSC 2020 Meeting aims to present a wide range of topics within the field of biophysics from Canadian and international speakers.



Professor, University of Toronto

John Rubinstein obtained his B.Sc from the University of Guelph in 1998. He received his PhD from Cambridge University (2002) where he worked in Medical Research Council laboratories under the supervision of Sir John E. Walker and Dr. Richard Henderson. Dr. Rubinstein was a Postdoctoral Research Associate at the MRC Laboratory of Molecular Biology before returning to Canada for a National Cancer Institute of Canada (NCIC) postdoctoral fellowship at the Banting and Best Department of Medical Research. He joined the Research Institute of The Hospital for Sick Children in 2006 and is a Professor in the Departments of Biochemistry and Medical Biophysics.

Dr. Rubinstein’s group, consisting of biophysicists and biochemists, studies the structure and function of macromolecular assemblies using electron cryomicroscopy (cryo-EM), image analysis, molecular biology and molecular genetics. His group also develops the tools of cryo-EM so that they can answer questions that are not amenable to the techniques that currently exist. This process usually occurs at the level of developing new algorithms and software for image analysis and performing calculations with images and models of molecular structure.

Recent biological projects have included the structural study of the mitochondrial ATP synthase, the Vacuolar-type ATPase, and the V/A-ATPase. They also study bacterial toxins that interact with mammalian cells.

Albert Stolow
University of Ottawa (ON)
Catherine Royer
Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute (NY)
Michelle Wang
Cornell University (NY)
Peter Tieleman
University of Calgary (AB)
Andreas Hilfinger
UofT Mississauga (ON)
Chris Xu
Cornell University (NY)
Christa Brosseau
Saint Mary's University (NS)
Claudiu Gradinaru
UofT Mississauga (ON)
Donald Spratt
Clark University (MA)
Elizabeth Meiering
University of Waterloo (ON)
Giuseppe Melacini
McMaster University (ON)
Isaac Li
UBC Okanagan (BC)
Isabelle Marcotte
Université du Québec à Montréal (QC)
Joanne Lemieux
University of Alberta (AB)
Katherine Borden
Université de Montréal (QC)
Keng Chou
University of British Columbia (BC)
Laurent Kreplak
Dalhousie University (NS)
Nancy Forde
Simon Fraser University (BC)
Natalie Goto
University of Ottawa (ON)
Rikard Blunck
Université de Montréal (QC)
Ruud Veldhuizen
Western University (ON)
Sarah Rauscher
UofT Mississauga (ON)
Sharon Rozovsky
University of Delaware (DE)
Stefan Wallin
Memorial University (NL)
Steven Eppell
Case Western Reserve University (OH)
Styliani Constas
Western University (ON)
Tanya Dahms
University of Regina (SK)
Trushar Patel
University of Lethbridge (AB)